To the novel that I never finished….

When I decided to take my writing seriously a little more than a year ago, I was far less knowledgeable than I am now.  Let’s not get this wrong because there so much I have to learn. I am learning every day and hopefully my writing is getting better with every day.

I opened my flash drive over the weekend. Sitting in a file were two forgotten stories that I had started but given up. Along the way I was part of three anthologies, one already published and the other two being published this year, but I just couldn’t get back into the groove of writing what was once a great idea in my head.

For one I am far from a plotter. Every time I tried to plot, my story would go completely left and that annoyed the hell out of me. Once the words are flowing I am able to write for a long time and most times the product is not too bad. Of course this is before the editing and feedback from my trusted group of writing friends.

I am on the ending of finishing my Halloween short to send to my editor, and adding my extra scenes to my summer short per editors request. Now, I really wanted to finish the story I started last year. There’s 5,000 words full of promise and I believe would make a good story. My problem is if I find something I don’t like I will completely start from scratch. I have been doing this since last year and I had no progress with those actions.

Now, I am determined to finish this story, and let my words bleed on the page. It most likely will be shit. Yes, shit. But it would be my first completed novel worth of shit that I can fix, edit and make my baby shine.

One of my writer friends shared this quote from Stephen King “; that stopping a piece of work just because it’s hard, either emotionally or imaginatively, is a bad idea. Sometimes you have to go on when you don’t feel like it, and sometimes you’re doing good work when it feels like all you’re managing is to shovel shit from a sitting position.” This is my motto for the next few months. I will continue this novel and I will finish it.

So to that novel that is nestled neatly in my flash drive. It’s me and you baby.  Tears, anger, frustration and all. It’s time to finish you up.

One thought on “To the novel that I never finished….

Leave a Reply

