The Genre Dilemma

Reposted from my original writing wenches post

I have written things for a long time. Poetry, songs, shorts, you name it. Once I decided to take things a bit more serious, I realized that most people want you to define the genre you like to write in.

I am leaning towards the romance department. Why? The truth is I am a hopeless romantic at heart. I watch those romance movies all the time, and it will be that one line or that one at of love and I am bawling my eyes out.

I read romance books and hope that the pages leave such a romantic tale that I am in tears and wiping my eyes with tissues.

Funny thing I was always a horror buff as a child. I did read the Cam Jensen, The Boxcar Children, The Baby Sitters Club, The Sweet Valley High etc. However, I always been a horror kind of girl. I loved the Goosebumps books, The Fear Street books and I read every Stephen King book known to man. Stephen King actually is my favorite author of all time. I would watch horror movies all the time if I could an my fiancé loves them just as much as I do.

I say this because, I thought about writing a horror story. I even had a small idea pop briefly in my head because frankly I was a bit scared of the genre changing. When people ask me what genre I write, I say romance because of right now that is where I am most comfortable with. Still, the doors that flicker open in my mind sometimes tell me that maybe I should write something horror and maybe I will like it enough to do both.

What are your thoughts on authors and writing one or more genres?

 

Leave a Reply

