When being strong is too much…

“You don’t know how strong you are, until being strong is the only choice you have.”

I have been told that I was the strongest person that people knew. At first it didn’t bother me because of all the situations that required that of me, didn’t leave me with much of a choice.

In my twenty something years old life I have had so far, I have some pretty crazy cards dealt my way. There are some situations that I thank God every day for helping me through them and keeping me sane.

However, the most recent time that sentiment was shared with me, I was a bit peeved. I didn’t know why at first. It has been said to me tons of times. “You’re strong, you’ll get through this” or “you are the strongest person I know”. The thing is sometimes I don’t want to be so strong that my problems or issues get brushed off.

Sometimes I want to throw something, cry, scream and someone say for once it is okay to not be strong. That just this one time, you don’t have to be. Let me clarify and say that I do have a group of people around me who are always there if I needed and I am a lucky woman for having that, but even in that group I am called the strong one. The one who can get through anything.

I don’t think having strength is a bad thing, but sometimes I believe that it makes people see your problems or issues not warranting for too much concern because you are a strong person and can “handle anything.”

So now I ask, am I the only person who sometimes feel that being too strong of a person is sometimes a bad thing?

What are your thoughts on that issue? I would love to hear it.

5 thoughts on “When being strong is too much…

  1. Jennifer

    You are not alone. There are so may times when I feel the same way: I want to cry and stomp my foot and beeps in my room and all the other things that everyone else is aloud to do when they are upset. Unfortunately, someone has to be the adult. This “adulting” robs us of our well deserved tantrums. So the stress of being the adult builds up until we either explode or release it little by little in other ways. Not fair, but then if we didn’t, who would?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

