The trouble with self doubting….

Originally posted in my contributed post to writingwenches.com

“The worst enemy to creativity is self-doubt.”   Sylvia Plath

I use this statement on a every day basis for the most part. The last few weeks have been extremely busy and it left very little time for writing. The time that I finally did get to write was bombarded with pain episodes due to my fibromyalgia.

I have been working on a story for almost two years now. In between I have gotten four short stories out as well as a novelette. Having fibromyalgia sometimes leaves my brain in a fog and I find it very hard to concentrate.

That is why when I am flowing, I prefer no interruptions(easier said than done.) The thing is I always seem to find something wrong with the story. A character is irking my nerves or something feels wrong. Of course nobody writes a first draft with perfection. I know this and yet I still have doubts. What if I can’t get this story finished? What if a reader thinks this story is horrible? I don’t write for the pleasure of someone else. I write because it helps me. I write because I have something that I wanted to get down on paper. Of course it would be awesome if someone likes my story so much that I could live off of writing, but it’s not my main reason for getting words down on paper.

The doubts I have recently mad me fall out of love with the WIP I was working on. Doubts are indeed a creativity killer. I have been working with ways to deal with my writing slump and the doubts I have been having about my work. I have read many books and tried to start other projects just to get my head back in the game.

For anyone who is going through this and this includes myself, take a deep breath and remember you got this and you can do it. Only you can work for your dreams and the first step is believing that you can.

Leave a Reply

