13 Days of Halloween with Bewitching Desires A Savannah Coven (Day 3) featuring Niki Daninger

It’s Day 3 of my 13 days of Bewitching Desires A Savannah Coven

 featuring Niki Daninger.

She writes Paranormal, Fantasy, Urban Fantasy and Sci-Fi.

The name of her story in the anthology is “Micah’s Mess“.  Micah is the brother of Adanna (who is the Supreme of the Coven)

f6aa3a47-f463-441a-bcbf-4b9ede6e7a77

Blurb:

Micah is a self proclaimed selfish-ass, who wants nothing more than to take over the Savannah Coven. He doesn’t need an angel looking over his shoulder, and he doesn’t need to feel responsible for her safety. But fate intervenes. As the two travel across the southern half of The United States, they must face demons—his and hers, and discover the one thing that can save them both.

Author Spotlight

To start things off, what is one of your favorite things about Halloween?

The fun and the mystery.

What’s your favorite Halloween movie?

This may seem odd but I love watching Monster House with my daughters every year.

Have you written paranormal romance before?

Yes, my current WIP is paranormal and I have several other stories in that genre waiting to be finished.

So, tell me a little about your heroine.

Isolde is a guardian angel but she doesn’t protect people, she protects the Savannah National Wildlife Refuge.

Your hero sounds quite interesting. Can you tell me a little about him?

Micah is a selfish warlock who feels he’s been overlooked in life.

Where did you get the idea for your story or what was the inspiration for your story?

Honestly, when the anthology was suggested, I turned it down. I’d never written a short story before and I wasn’t sure I wanted to. That night, I could not stop thinking about it though. Micah and Isolde came to me as I got into bed and by the morning, the whole story was plotted out. I can’t say anything, other than a desire to join the wenches, inspired this story.

I may be a little bias, but the writing wenches are awesome. What was the hardest part in writing this short story?

UGH – getting everything down in 15K words!!! I would not say I’m ‘wordy’ but I’m used to putting a lot more detail into my stories.

Do you see yourself continuing this character(s) into another project?

No. I feel like his story is complete.

Are you working on anything new currently?

Not new… old. I’ve been working on a shifter story for a couple of years now. At first this all started out as a whim but I know now that it is more than a hobby to entertain myself and a few close friends. My motivation to finish is at an all-time high!

Is there anything you want to say to the reader?

Yes, thank you for helping this girl achieve her dreams. I hope you like Micah as much as I do.

Here’s excerpt from “Micah’s Mess”

I pulled my phone out and brought up the sketch Gregor had texted. He’d assured me the ancient, leather bound volume was his and his banishment was due to nothing more than an illicit affair with the Supreme, followed by a subsequent altercation with her mate.

“The prick was jealous,” Gregor had sneered. “I took something of his, so he took something of mine.”

Did I believe him? Not entirely, but I could still hear the animosity in his voice, see the rage in his eyes. There’d been some truth to his claim.

Isa took the phone from me and studied the image. Without explanation, she began checking spines.

I stood unmoving for a long moment. Was this the same angel who’d tried, twice, to change my mind? Was she really helping me, or did she have an ulterior motive?

Deciding it was best I find the tome, I took the other side of the room and began flipping books.

After half an hour, we were still unsuccessful. I wanted to switch sides, but Isa insisted she had thoroughly checked all the books. She might be able to keep something from me, but angels couldn’t lie. She had not seen the book.

“Maybe they moved it,” she suggested. It was a valid thought. If the coven members thought Gregor was after the book, they might have hidden it somewhere else.

I leaned against the table, so much like the one in our own meeting room. It wobbled, ever so slightly. That’s when the idea came. Rose kept something hidden beneath our table. She never spoke of it, but I’d heard the whispers, the muted screams. I’d sensed its presence.

Crawling under the table, I knocked on the floor, trying to find a loose or creaky board.

“What is this?”

I looked over my shoulder. Isa was under the table with me, pointing to the underside.

“Hot damn!” It was a hidden drawer.

Sliding it open, we recovered a metal lockbox. I shook it. There was something large inside. And heavy. It could easily be a book.

“Okay, let’s see what we got.” I slid out from under the table and grabbed my pack. Digging around, I found my lockpicking kit, then set to work.

“Would they have spelled it shut?” Isa asked as she scooted next to me.

“My grandmother always said ‘sometimes the simplest solution is the best solution.’ I imagine most would sit here trying to find the right spell but… Ah.” I smiled as the lid popped open. “They’d only have wasted their time.”

Inside was a gold bound book with raised symbols and a substantial clasp holding the covers shut.

“You did it!” Isa’s eyes lit up with excitement as she leaned forward and hugged me.

I stiffened—instantly. There was no subtlety, and Isa reacted, pulling back so she could look at me.

Her pupils were dilated, and her full lips were slightly parted.

Holy Hell.

Author Bio

10653279_1471758556423682_1921742670705399753_n

Niki grew up reading fantasy books, dreaming of elves, magic, magnificent beasts and worlds that only she could visit, but she never dreamed of being an author. That came later, after she went to Manhattan, majored in art, found her husband, moved to Pennsylvania, and had two daughters.

Inspired by her author friends, she joined NaNoWriMo. That’s when her dreams took a new turn. They became insistent. The ideas and characters that had slowly taken up residence in her mind demanded their stories be told. So she started to write—with purpose.

Micah’s Mess is Niki’s first short story, but she hopes to finish her current WIP soon, so she can share more of her dreams with those who have supported and encouraged her over the years.

Social Media Links

Website

Twitter

Facebook

Goodreads

Pinterest

Leave a Reply

