13 Days of Halloween with Bewitching Desires A Savannah Coven Anthology (Day 10) featuring Sonja Fröjdendal

 

Hey we are at Day 10 of my 13 Days of Halloween with Bewitching Desires A Savannah Coven Anthology.

Today my feature author is Sonja Fröjdendal. Sonja writes Poetry, Contemporary Romance, Paranormal Romance, and Erotica. In the future she wants to try horror, thrillers and Sci-Fi.

The name of her story is Running with Magic.

21fc47a9-295f-4896-a290-c771dd236b69

Blurb

Sunshine is a witch who can bottle emotions and that’s not her only talent. With a long line of witches behind her, she isn’t scared that she has a hot demon following her.

She does mind that his father has taken a shine to her too, and as ruler of the night demons, has sent an army to capture her as his bride.

Even with her occult powers and a dragon as her ride, Sunshine is finding that loving the right demon is hell.

 

Author Spotlight

Hey Sonja, so what is your favorite things about Halloween?

My favorite things about Halloween is that the freaks and weirdos come out of hiding. To be serious, I love the celebration of All Hallows Eve, anything that celebrates the dead we have lost is good in my eyes. Here in Sweden we don’t have the same history of celebrating Halloween as America does. It is still kind of a new thing, even if it’s been around for the last 10-15 years. We don’t celebrate it on the same date as America, I think it’s a day or so after the “real” one.

What is your favorite movie?

Favorite Halloween movie, oh my… I need to think on this one, because I’m not sure I have a specific Halloween movie. Pet Semetary, Poltergeist, Sleepy Hollow and Hocus Pocus are my pics. If we talk about the movies named Halloween it’s the ones with Jamie Lee Curtis. I am a horror fanatic, I’ll take a good scare any day, or night.

Have you written paranormal romance before Sonja?

This was my first attempt on paranormal romance, well my first attempt on paranormal period. Rebekah asked in one of my writing groups if anyone was interested on writing paranormal for an anthology. I said yes, I might have said YES!!!!! After it was decided I started to realize that I might had got down in the deep end of the pool without knowing how to swim. Luckily I survived and got to be a better writer. I have a thing for saying yes before really thinking.

Tell about your heroine.

The heroine Sunshine is as fierce and fiery as they get, in more ways than one. She is a witch on her dad’s side and she has power over fire. Very headstrong and eager to show everyone, included herself, that she can manage on her own. What no one, except her family, knows is that she has a secret to keep in the dark.

And your hero?

My hero Teagan is a night demon who is, not so, secretly in love with Sunshine. He is doing his best in keeping Sunshine safe and unharmed, not the easiest thing to do. The chemistry between them isn’t helping much either.

What was the inspiration for your story?

The idea to “Running with Magic” comes from what Sunshine told me to write, she didn’t introduce herself other than she was a witch and that she had a secret, more detailed than this isn’t possible. The wish of blending my beliefs, I’m a witch, with the Nordic mythology got a kick out of talking to Sunshine. I have always found the myths and folklores very interesting and being a writer is giving me the chance to write the books I want to read.

What was the hardest part of writing Running with Magic?

The hardest part of writing this short story was to get so much details in without it feeling like a book of facts. How much is necessary, what is irrelevant, what can I keep for another story.

Do you think you will continue your character(s) in a future story?

I  would really like to go back and give more flesh to the bones of this story. As I was writing it I knew I would see them all again. Don’t know when but someday.

Are you working on anything new?

As much as I enjoy the release of “Bewitching Desires” I’m knee deep in writing on two erotic novels, in Swedish which feels weird after writing so much in English.

Sonja, is there anything you will like to tell the reader?

Don’t be scared of letting me know what you think of my babies, we authors love to interact, as long as you’re not just plain mean. Please leave a review, write a blog post or just spread the word if you like my stories. I hope you enjoy the entire Anthology, not just my story, I have been privileged to work with such talented authors and I will do it again if they ask me to join in new adventures. See you on the next page honey.

Excerpt from Running with Magic

A hand on Sunshine’s shoulder made her jump and spill her drink. It felt like she had her heart in her throat when she turned her head to face the owner. Seeing Hamish standing behind her heighten her senses and even quickened her pulse more. A cold stream ran down her spine, freezing her stiff.

“Sunshine my dear, how nice to find you here. Is everything okay? You don’t return my calls. One might think you don’t want to talk to me.” Hamish lifted one eyebrow, cocking his head.

“If that’s what you think, then why do you keep calling?” Sunshine took a deep breath.

“Because I know that you are busy and probably don’t have time to return calls. So, knowing you would be in town for the coven meeting, I decided to pay you a visit. I figured it was the only option to get you to talk to me.”

“I have no problem talking to you. It’s the other thing I have a problem with.” Deep breathing didn’t calm her down as much as she hoped for. She couldn’t focus enough to get her powers to work, somehow she needed Hamish to let go of her shoulder.

“I can’t see why that is a problem. It’s an honor, I assure you.”

“I bet it is but I don’t aspire to that honor. I have no feelings for you so it wouldn’t be right. Take someone who really appreciate and want the privilege, someone who can make you proud.” Sunshine stood up and took one step to the side, getting him to loosen his grip.

“Going somewhere?”

“Only to the ladies room. Is that a problem?”

“Oh, no. Go ahead dear. I’ll wait here for you.”

“We don’t have anything to talk about. You got my answer and I’m not changing my mind. I’m not following you anywhere. Give up and leave me alone.” Sunshine took another deep breath. Her voice started to give away her nervousness and that would be a bad thing.

“Let’s say it like this. I’ll leave you for now and let you finish your business in town. When the coven meeting is over, I’ll send someone to pick you up for a visit to my home. If you still feel the same, you don’t have to. How does that sound?” His tone of voice made her feel patronized, like she was a small child.

“Good, let me do my thing in peace.” Sunshine made sure she didn’t make a promise she couldn’t keep.

After kissing her hand, Hamish left Stay a Spell. She was off the hook for now. She had used the ladies room as an excuse but she went in there to cool her wrists. It usually helped her calm down. Staying focused was a necessity if the solution to get him to stop ever ought to show its face.

Author Info

12053124_10153738933127022_1094331333_n

You can find Sonja on Facebook: www.facebook.com/sonjafrojdendalauthhor and on Twitter: @frjdendalsonja

Social Media

Facebook

Twitter

Instagram

Goodreads: Sonja Fröjdendal

Leave a Reply

