13 Days of Halloween with Bewitching Desires A Savannah Coven Anthology (Day 12)

Today is the 12 Day of my 13 Days of Halloween with Bewitching Desires A Savannah Coven Anthology. I am putting some info and insight into my short from this anthology.

I have never written paranormal anything before. So writing a paranormal romance was a bit tricky for me because it required research and tons of help from my writing group in this project. I knew I wanted my heroine Paige to be African American. My hero Kean was based at least on appearance by a wrestler who gives me the impression he would make a great shifter. Once I got passed the appearance I wanted to make him sexy, but secretive and my story went from there.

I am a big fan of Stephen King and one of my favorite books of his is “Carrie”. In that book Carrie was a girl who possessed telekinetic powers and that was the inspiration for Paige having that power as well.

The name of my story is Magical Shift.

Magical Shift Cover

Blurb

Paige has always been a loner. After the death of her nana, she takes solace in her job and taking long runs in the woods. Her usual place of solitude is threatened by an unknown presence and a rather handsome mystery man who lands on her doorstep quite literally.
Falling in love with the handsome stranger wasn’t part of the plan, but that is exactly what begins to happen. When old friends and secrets start to unravel, Paige is left with trying to find a balance between what she thought she knew and what her heart says.

An excerpt from Magical Shift

Me? I received my powers a year ago at midnight. At first I thought I’d lost things, my keys and my sunglasses. Then later I’d find them in different places. By the time I arrived at the Halloween coven meeting, I had realized that I was accidentally moving things around. At first it seemed fun, but after a while, I grew frustrated because I didn’t know how to control the telekinesis. I’d find my hairbrush in the fridge and the flour would end up in the linen cupboard. Glasses would be broken on the hall floor. Almost a year and endless practice later I have a greater degree of control. Nana would’ve made sure I learned it all, but I think I did pretty well for someone who had to figure it out on her own. Although when I’m angry or tired, I still tend to do things more unintentionally than not.
My usual route took me around the edge of the woods; a circuit that ended back home. I could take the road on the opposite side, but that led into town. Now that Nana had passed, I had been going further in, not when the run was so peaceful and the forest so close to my house.
I paced myself as I ran past the trees. Pink’s upbeat tunes dazzled my eardrums. I reveled in the sense of freedom running gave me, even if it was only for a moment.
Nana often called me her special little girl. She said there weren’t many of us in the black culture. I came from a long line of witches and I inherited the powers I got. It skipped generations. Many of the other black witches my nana had known in her lifetime learned their occult knowledge from books and spells.
I kept up my pace until the feeling I wasn’t alone in the woods crept up on me. I took one of the headphones out and scanned my surroundings to see if I could spot something. My intuition was usually right. I turned around a few times, seeing nothing, I placed my earphones back in. Lately, I have been feeling like I was being watched. Most times the presence didn’t feel threatening, and other times it did. Maybe Nana was warning me away from the woods from beyond.
The hairs on the back of my neck pricked up and I picked up the pace. I could hear all of Nana’s past warnings in my head, but I needed my daily run like I needed coffee. It was my fix.

things more unintentionally than not.
My usual route took me around the edge of the woods; a circuit that ended back home. I could take the road on the opposite side, but that led into town. Now that Nana had passed, I had been going further in, not when the run was so peaceful and the forest so close to my house.
I paced myself as I ran past the trees. Pink’s upbeat tunes dazzled my eardrums. I reveled in the sense of freedom running gave me, even if it was only for a moment.
Nana often called me her special little girl. She said there weren’t many of us in the black culture. I came from a long line of witches and I inherited the powers I got. It skipped generations. Many of the other black witches my nana had known in her lifetime learned their occult knowledge from books and spells.
I kept up my pace until the feeling I wasn’t alone in the woods crept up on me. I took one of the headphones out and scanned my surroundings to see if I could spot something. My intuition was usually right. I turned around a few times, seeing nothing, I placed my earphones back in. Lately, I have been feeling like I was being watched. Most times the presence didn’t feel threatening, and other times it did. Maybe Nana was warning me away from the woods from beyond.
The hairs on the back of my neck pricked up and I picked up the pace. I could hear all of Nana’s past warnings in my head, but I needed my daily run like I needed coffee. It was my fix.
My senses tingled again. I spun around again this time certain that I wasn’t alone. I didn’t want to deal with the abnormal today.
I was isolated by my abnormality. Okay, yes, I had the coven. The coven, a sacred place with friendly enough witches, but they weren’t my Nana. I had always been an awkward girl.

Leave a Reply

