Author Spotlight: Eliza David

It is always super awesome to meet new authors on social media. Today on my blog I will have author Eliza David telling a little about herself. I hope you enjoy this as much as I did interviewing her.

Here’s Eliza

ed

Can you tell us a little bit about yourself?

Hi there, I’m Eliza David.  I was born and raised on the Southside of Chicago (ten minutes from Michelle Obama’s childhood home…but almost everywhere on the Southside takes 15 minutes).  I’m always a ChiCity girl, but these days, I live with my family in Iowa City. I adore French fries, wine, and random acts of petty.

What do you do when you are not writing?

When I’m not writing, I’m doing everything else: working full time, raising kids, watching Sex and the City reruns, and planning the rare date night with my husband.

Do you have a day job as well?

Yes – I work full time in the education field.  It pays the bills so I can’t complain. (At least, I can’t complain publicly. Streets is watching.)

How did you choose the genre you write in?

There was never any doubt that I would write at least one romance novel.  Now that I’ve written ten, I know why romance is my chosen genre. It has everything I love in one package: love, sex, drama, and yes – men!

Where do you get your ideas?

I think about what I would want to read with a glass of wine. I think about my favorite romance/women’s fiction authors like Erica Jong, Eric Jerome Dickey, Jennifer Weiner, and Candace Bushnell – they have created characters that have stayed with me and I strive to do the same for my readers.

How do you market your work? What avenues have you found to work best for your genre?

Having a strong social media helps (ProTip: Own a hashtag! Mine is #Cougarette!).  Social media is also great for networking with other writers, in and out of my genre. Indie writers have a special kinship.  When you work those relationships on a human level, you’ll find promotional support on a grassroots level. That said, I also invest in my brand daily.  From the book covers to the banner ads, I’m very hands on in getting the word out about my product.

Is anything in your book based on real life experiences or purely all imagination?

Well, I write romance so yeah…some of my carnal history has seeped its way through the pages. I strive to give my characters parts of me (i.e. CeeCee’s aloofness, Laney’s foul mouth, Jay’s creativity) while still making them their own people.

What project are you working on now?

Besides my freelancing, I am working on two novels right now.  The first is Still Savage, the sequel to my last novel, Savage.  My second is still in the plotting stages, but it is an untitled novella about online fandom. It’s like Rainbow Rowell’s Attachments…but with a little sex.

Are there certain characters you would like to go back to, or is there a theme or idea you’d love to work with?

I like second chances. It’s a theme that I often weave into my narratives. Everyone deserves a second chance – the trouble is when they start expecting third, fourth, and fifth chances (some of my characters have that disorder!).

Do you have any advice to give to aspiring writers?

Don’t try to emulate your fave. Tell the story you would want to read, not what you think someone else would enjoy.

Is there anything that you would like to say to your readers and fans?

My cup runneth over for my fans especially my Day Ones that told their friends and family to read my novels. I could never thank them enough for their undying support of my naughty words. I hope they keep coming back for more (and you already know the pun was intended!).

Social Media:

Website

Facebook

Twitter

Instagram

Goodreads

Amazon

Author Bio:

Eliza David is the author of the five-star rated, six-book Cougarette Series. She was born and raised on the noisy South Side of Chicago, but now lives in super quiet Iowa. When she’s not writing, working full-time, or raising two children with her loving husband, Eliza enjoys reading throwback Jackie Collins and indulging in the occasional order of cheese fries.

Eliza is also a contributing writer for Real Moms of Eastern Iowa and Thirty On Tap. She was a featured panelist at the 2016 Iowa Soul Festival and was a headlining author at the 2016 Iowa City Book Fair. Her latest project, Savage, hit Amazon in September 2016.

Leave a Reply

