Author Spotlight: B.L. McGrew and Her Butterfly Diary

Today I’m happy to have on my blog a friend of mine that I met this year via BookCon. We connected and I was touched my her genuine soul so that when she told me she was releasing a book I thought why not have her on my blog? I have gotten to know her over time and she had become like my soul book sister. I hope you enjoy your introduction to B.L. Mc  as she makes her debut.

xoxo

Kay

herb

Amazon

Blurb:

Zoe is a closed off, sarcastic, unhappy, high tempered, seventeen year old girl, who is forced by her therapist to start keeping a diary. She doesn’t see the point in having to communicate her every thought. Whether it be speaking or writing, it wouldn’t change anything.

Plagued with the stress of traumatic experiences in her life and weighed down with a huge secret she is keeping from those closest to her, Zoe is a closed book to the world around her. Avoidance is all she knows.

Though, she may seem like nothing bothers her on the exterior, she knows the demons she is battling and the skeletons she’s trying to keep locked away. Will she ever be able to face all the dark in her life? Will she ever be able to see herself as someone worthy of love, someone worthy of happiness?

Is happiness even meant for everyone?

Excerpt:

I was manic and anxiety ridden watching it hold my words, words that I could never get back. Like a crazed person I jumped out of my bed and nearly ran to my desk grabbing the diary. I yanked it open and violently ripped those three pages out that I’d just written. I tore the pages into pieces so tiny that they could have easily been confused as confetti. I threw the pieces of confetti into the trash and then poured my bottle of water over it just to ensure the pieces could never be put back together.

I sat down in my chair nearly out of breath. My shoulders slumped as I stared at my trashcan. Unable to cry for some odd reason; my hands started to tremble. I counted the butterflies on the cover of the diary again and again, slowly and methodically until I was able to calm my unsteady body.

 In that moment I realized that like the wet and ripped pages of confetti, I too would never be put back together.

 

Author Interview:

What do you do when you are not writing?

When I am not writing, I am usually reading or running/working out. 

When did you first start writing and when did you finish your first book?

I actually started off writing Twilight FanFiction and I had a lot of fans tell me I needed to start writing my own stories. My parents encouraged me as well and in 2010 I started coming up with my own characters. 

How did you choose the genre you write in?

I just feel comfortable with Young Adult/ New Adult/ contemporary. I don’t want to pigeon hole myself, but I write more fluidly in these genres.  

Do you ever experience writer’s block?

Yes! I experience it often. Actually, before I finished Her Butterfly Diary I hadn’t written in three years. I hated that nothing was inspiring me, but one day a flood of ideas hit me for many different kinds of books and now I can’t stop!

Do you work with an outline, or just write?

I just go with the flow. I want to outline, but for me personally it messes with my creativity while writing. I like to go wherever the words take me. My original idea for Her Butterfly Diary was totally different than my finished product. Had I followed an outline of my original idea I don’t think it would be the book it is right now.

Can you tell us about your upcoming book?

It has dark themes and a few difficult parts to read as you learn more about the protagonist, Zoe. I hope people can take away from the book the feeling of knowing we all grow. We all battle demons differently  and that doesn’t make you less of a person.

What project are you working on now?

I’m currently working on multiple projects. My second novels first draft is complete, so now I’m working on my first fantasy trilogy and two other realistic fiction/Young Adult books. Trying to figure out which one will be my third complete project.

Will you have a new book coming out soon?

Yes! Next year my sophomore novel “We Are Immeasurable” will be released. It is a Young Adult novel and I won’t give too much away, but grab your tissues!

Do you have any advice to give to aspiring writers?

WRITE! When you don’t want to, when you think you’re out of words, when you think your idea sucks, WRITE ANYWAY! It will come to you. Writing is like exercising, you have to be consistent. If you’re not you get rusty and you lose momentum! Just don’t think too hard, take it chapter by charter. Word by word, before you know it you will have a first draft!

Is there anything that you would like to say to your readers and fans?

THANK YOU! Your support means the world to me. It’s overwhelming knowing people are rooting for you and want to see you win. I’m living my dream, all I’ve wanted is to become a published author and I can officially say that I am. So thank you for going on this ride with me. There’s more to come and I promise you, I will work hard at getting better and better! 

Author Bio:
bri

 

Native of North Eastern, Ohio. I have been writing for almost ten years with “Her Butterfly Diary” being my first published work. I am a bibliophile, a vegan, and a runner! Books, writing, and music are all I need in this life. And peanut butter! I was a teacher for seven years, but writing is what I want to do with the rest of my life. I hope you enjoy my debut!

Social Media:

Twitter

Instagram

Leave a Reply

